Tung Tran launched his first online course ever a few weeks back. The course is called AMZ Affiliate Bootcamp, and it teaches people how to build Amazon Affiliate websites.
He earned just shy of $30,000 in the first 5 days.
A couple weeks after this was written, he sold 23 more seats in his course, bringing the total to $42,000 in about the first 6 weeks. He also plans to continue to market it to get more and more students every single month!
After checking in with Tung about 10 months later, his course has generated $8,000 – $12,000 / month in income, and between that and the launch will have generated a solid 6 figures in it’s first year.
In this article, you will get all the behind the scenes information on exactly how he did it. Our Monetize Your Expertise team worked with him every step of the way, and so we will be showing you exactly what he did, and what we did, that allowed him to achieve this kind of results. It will walk you through the exact method we used to build the course (with templates), his actual launch sequence, and even the hourly journal he kept on the day of the launch.
The goal is to give you everything you need to also be able to wake up and see this in your inbox:
Note: the tool we used to do this was intercom.io
Phase 3 – Executing an online course launch
The structure of this launch might surprise you in its simplicity (and efficacy). Course launches don’t have to be sophisticated, especially if you have some kind of audience. You sometimes have to be a bit more crafty if you don’t have much of an audience to work with, however.
A 3-part content series on building a profitable Amazon affiliate site, posted on the blog and blasted out to his email list.
Here is a visual illustration from Digital Marketer that Tung found helpful:
Image from Digital Marketer – wwww.inspirechanges.com/portfolio/mini-class-launch-funnel/
Breaking down what this means:
- 2,700 total visitors on the sales page
- This converted to 50 customers (of the $497 product)
- 1,300 from mailing the launch content (using Activecampaign)
- 500 from Tung’s Cloud Living Facebook group
- 500 from direct links on other places on his site
- The last couple hundred from random anonymous sources
If you do the math for what this means to you:
- 1300/6000 = 21.6% click-through from his email list
- 288/2438 = 11.8% click-through from the Cloud Living Facebook group
- 235 other visitors from Facebook due to social sharing of the launch content and sales page
These are relatively modest numbers, especially when you consider that these CTR’s are not even on individual emails or links, but just somewhere during the whole campaign. 21.6% of his email list clicked through to the sales page at some point.
That’s what I mean when I said this case study is by no means an unusual result. The metrics are normal. The strategy is simple. Your expected results will just involve doing the math based on the size of your own email list, social media following, etc. Your conversion rates won’t all be the same, but they can be used as a ballpark estimate.
While we kept this first version of the launch pretty simple, Tung already has big plans for the next round of marketing for the course that we are really excited about. JV partnerships, webinar marketing, PPC, etc. There are several great tools we are looking at to scale his marketing and scale his results. We’ve validated the quality, demand and results every step of the way and now it’s time to double down on those results.